

P.O. Box 23194 Oakland Park, FL 33307 954-358-9327 secretary@dolphindems.org

## ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING February 8, 2022 - 7:00pm - 8:30pm The Pride Center at Equality Park MINUTES

- Welcome/Call to Order: The regular meeting of the Dolphin Democrats was held in person on Wednesday, January 11th, 2022, at 7:00 pm with the President in the chair and the Secretary present.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance: Michael Albetta led the group in the pledge of allegiance.
- 3. Attendance/Quorum: Secretary Tina Jaramillo
  - a. The Secretary determined that quorum was met.
- 4. Approval of Minutes
  - a. Last Membership Meeting Minutes: January 11, 2023
  - b. The minutes were approved as distributed.
- 5. Elected Officials, Candidates, Leaders

President Alfredo Olvera welcomed candidates and elected officials.

- 6. Reports:
  - a. President: Alfredo Olvera
    - President Olvera thanked the group and the Board of Directors, and he reflected on his time and accomplishments as President of the Dolphin Democrats.
    - ii. Vice President Jason Gad presented outgoing President Olvera with an award in recognition and honor of his time and service to the Board.
  - b. Treasurer: Hillary Dougherty
    - i. January Bank Balance: \$31,406.94ii. Current Bank Balance: \$29,826.98
    - iii. The report of the Treasurer was read by Treasurer Hillary Dougherty.
  - c. Committees:
    - Membership: <u>Nicky Vasquez</u> Chair reported 194 new and renew members for 2023 count.

## 7. New Business:

- a. **Endorsements:** Coconut Creek Commission Districts A & D. President Olvera lead the endorsement process and presented the following candidates:
  - i. For Coconut Creek Commission District, A: Becky Tooley and Jeffrey Wasserman. None of the candidates received the required % of the votes. The members didn't endorse anyone.
  - ii. For Coconut Creek District D: Nancy Fry received the endorsement.

## b. Board of Directors Election

- Nominating Committee chair Mark McKenzie presented the following nominations for Directors:
  - 1. Charles Baran-Bookman, James Oaksun, and Bud Beehler to fill vacant positions with term ending in February, 2025.

P.O. Box 23194 ♦ Oakland Park, FL 33307-3194 ♦ www.DOLPHINDEMS.org

- 2. Scott McCoy moved to elect all of the candidates to the open positions. Seconded by Ed Leuchs; the motion passed unanimously by acclamation.
- ii. Nominating Committee chair Mark McKenzie presented the following nominations for Executive Board Members
  - 1. Todd Delmay for President & Sabrina Javellana for Vice-President
  - 2. Zachary Eakins Durand for Secretary
  - 3. Jason Gad for Treasurer.
  - 4. After tallying the votes, all 4 candidates won the election and will serve a term from Feb 8, 2023thru February 12, 2025.
- 8. Guest Speaker:
  - a. School Board Member Sarah Leonardi swore the newly elected board into office.
- 9. Old Business: None
- 10. For the Good of the Party:
  - a. Various members of the organization shared words about President Olvera's leadership.
- **11. Adjournment:** Newly elected president **Todd Delmay** called for a motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 8:30pm

Recorded and submitted by Tina Jaramillo, Secretary